HAPPY HAPPY

Image

Since coming back from Haiti so many people have commented to us about how happy we look in the pictures taken there.   After hearing this over and over I started thinking “what’s up with that?”   Why would we look so happy while visiting a country with such problems?  Ummm, it certainly wasn’t because we were all clean and comfortable…it’s unbelievably hot and sticky and dusty there.  Make-up and flat ironing my hair did not happen.  We weren’t staying in the  most luxurious of accomodations…I stayed in room with 5 other girls, bunk beds and NO air conditioning.  There was no hot water, which was fine because the cold water felt good in that tiny little bathroom with sweat dripping down my back even after getting out of the shower.  Room temperature drinking water all week…NO ice.  Yep, pretty primitive living.  But we were happy…the whole week.

Here’s what I’ve learned…I think we were doing what God created us for.  We went out of our comfort zone to help others.  We did house work for them.   We hugged and played with the children.  We fixed some things in the community to make it a better place.  We loved them.  That’s what Jesus called us to do.  That made us happy.

I don’t want that happiness to ever end.  A few nights ago Joey and I were at a very cool little coffee place talking about “life”.  I told him that I don’t think I have ever been happier than I have been in the last few months.  As I thought about that statement, all of a sudden, I realized that I was happy “all the way down”.  That’s the only way I can describe it.  Just all the way down in the depths of my heart.  I don’t want it to end.

I know that our upcoming adoption has something to do with that.  I have this overflow of love now that I can’t wait to overflow on to this child that God has chosen for us.  (I’m getting weepy now…I’m not usually like that…just a weird thing that has been happening to me lately).  Please join me in praying for our son.  Pray that he is safe.  Pray that he is being loved by someone God has put in his path.  Pray that somehow he would know that we are trying as hard as we can to bring him home to us.  Pray that he would know there is a God out there that loves him more than he can imagine.

I’m happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

